Grammy Nominations Announced: Linkin Park Leads The Pack

By Frank Meyer, Contributing Editor
Friday, January 4, 2002 @ 10:34 AM

NARAS Announce Grammy Nominati

- advertisement -
The National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences announced the nominations for the 44th Annual Grammy Awards this morning and nu metal kingpins Linkin Park lead the way in the rock-related categories with three nominations: Best New Artist, Best hard Rock performance (“Crawling”), and Best Rock Album (Hybrid Theory).

Linin Park is up against India.Arie, Nelly Furtado, David Gray and Alicia Keys in the Best New Artist category. In the category of Best Hard Rock performance, they are up against the likes of Alien Ant Farm (“Smooth Criminal”), P.O.D. (“Alive”), Rage Against The Machine (“Renegades of Funk”) and Saliva (“Your Disease”). In the Best Rock Album category they compete against Ryan Adams (Gold, Aerosmith ( Just Push Play), PJ Harvey (Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea) and U2 (All That You Can't Leave Behind). Meanwhile, Boston Bad Boys Aerosmith and their song “Jaded” are up against the likes of Coldplay, Dave Mathews Band, Train and U2 in the category of Best Rock Performance By Duo Or Group With Vocal, as well as the Best Rock Album category. Other hard rock artists to be nominated include Slayer, Black Sabbath, Godsmack, System of a Down, and Slipknot.

The nominations are for recordings released during the Eligibility Year October 1, 2000 through September 30, 2001. The award ceremony is scheduled for February 27th at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and will be aired on CBS.

Here are the other rock-related nominations:

Best Metal Performance: For solo vocals, or Duos/Groups with vocals. Singles or Tracks only.
1. “The Wizard”
Black Sabbath
Track from: Ozzfest 2001 The Second Millennium
[Epic Records/Divine Recordings]

2. “Disciple”
Track from: God Hates Us All
[American/Island Def Jam Music Group]

3. “Left Behind”
Track from: Iowa
[Roadrunner Records]

4. “Chop Suey!”
System Of A Down
Track from: Toxicity
[American/Sony Music Entertainment]

5. “Schism”
Track from: Lateralus
[Tool Dissectional/Volcano Entertainment]

Best Rock Instrumental Performance:
Includes Rock, Hard Rock and Metal Instrumentals. Singles or Tracks only.
1. “High Falls”
The Allman Brothers Band
Track from: Peakin' At The Beacon
[Epic/550 Music Group]

2. “Dirty Mind”
Jeff Beck
Track from: You Had It Coming
[Epic Records]

3. “Vampires”
Track from: Awake
[Republic/Universal Records]

4. “Always With Me, Always With You”
Joe Satriani
Track from: Live In San Francisco
[Epic Records]

5. “Whispering A Prayer”
Steve Vai
Track from: Alive In An Ultra World
[Epic Records]

Best Rock Song:
A Songwriter(s) Award. Includes Rock, Hard Rock & Metal songs. Singles or Tracks only.
1. “Drops Of Jupiter”
Charlie Colin, Rob Hotchkiss, Pat Monahan, Jimmy Stafford & Scott Underwood, songwriters (Train)
Track from: Drops Of Jupiter
[Columbia Records Group; Publisher: EMI April Music Inc., P. Timon Music, Mr. Clean Music, Schweet Music, Desert Tent Music, EMI Blackwood Music Inc., Wunderwood Music]

2. “Elevation”
U2, songwriter (U2)
Track from: All That You Can't Leave Behind
[Interscope Records; Polygram International Music Publishing B.V.]

3. “Jaded”
Marti Frederiksen & Steven Tyler, songwriters (Aerosmith)
Track from: Just Push Play
[Columbia Records Group; Publishers: EMI April Music Inc., Demon Of Screamin' Music Publishing, EMI Blackwood Music Inc. And Pearl White Music]

4. “Walk On”
U2, songwriter (U2)
Track from: All That You Can't Leave Behind
[Interscope; Publisher: Polygram International Music Publishing B.V.]

5. “Yellow”
Guy Berryman, Jon Buckland, Will Champion & Chris Martin, songwriters (Coldplay)
Track from: Parachutes
[Capitol Records; Publisher: BMG Music Publishing LTD.]

Please log in to view RANTS

If you don't have a username, click here to create an account!




 Recent News
Represent! Get Your KNAC.COM Bumper Sticker
Happenings This Week on KNAC.COM
MADBALL Release Music Video For "Freight Train"
ICARUS WITCH Return With Goodbye Cruel World Album
TRIBULATION Release "Nightbound" Video
VIRGIN STEELE Will Release With Seven Devils Moonshine Special 5 CD Boxset For Their 35th Anniversary
KNAC-FM DJ THRASHPIE Release Head Bangin' Radio Book
DREAM CHILD Drop "Midnight Song" Video
WITHIN TEMPTATION Announce New Album Resist
BMG To Reissue DIO's Classic 1996 - 2004 Studio Albums
DEE SNIDER Is "American Made" With New Video
IMPELLITTERI Unleash "Run For Your Life" Video
THE POWER OF THE RIFF Makes Its Return To Los Angeles In November
GRAVE DIGGER Stream New Track "The Power Of Metal"
VOIVOD Release "Inconspiracy" Video, 7 Inch EP
CASTLE Unveils New Song "Can't Escape The Evil"
MEGADETH Bassist DAVID ELLEFSON Announces East Coast "BASSTORY" Dates
FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH Premiere "When The Seasons Change" Video
UNLEASH THE ARCHERS Stream Track "Ten Thousand Against One"
LACUNA COIL Release "Blood, Tears, Dust" Clip From The 119 Show - Live In London
ARCHITECTS Return With Holy Hell Album
STEELHEART Set To Release Rock'n Milan Live Album, DVD
'A BOWIE CELEBRATION' Announces 32-Date North American Winter Tour
BLACKTOP MOJO Reveal PledgeMusic Campaign To Fund Upcoming Album
POP EVIL Announces 2018 Canadian Headline Tour Dates
SODOM To Release New EP Partisan In November
CIRITH UNGOL Releases First New Track Since 1991 With "Witch's Game"
STRATOVARIUS To Release Enigma: Intermission 2
ENUFF Z'NUFF Release Video For Title Track of New Album Diamond Boy
ALCATRAZZ Reveal Parole Denied-Tokyo 2017 Live LP
SEPTICFLESH Announce Show With Live Orchestra
HELIX To Release A Helix Christmas Album
SUPERSUCKERS Debut "History Of Rock N' Roll" Video
LOUDER THAN LIFE Daily Music Schedule Announced
STEVE VAI Reveals First Round Of Guests Performing At “The Big Mama-Jama Jamathon”
FIFTH ANGEL Unleash 'Can You Hear Me' Lyric Video
GHOST Announces 2019 European Headline Dates
WITHERFALL Release "Ode to Despair" Single/Video
AUDIOTOPSY Reveal Grooving New Track "What Am I?"
KROKUS To Call It A Day With "Adios Amigos Tour"
Former MUSHROOMHEAD Frontman, Co-Founder JEFFREY NOTHING Returns With New Single
METAL ALLEGIANCE Unleash New Beer Visualizer Video For "The Accuser"
FOZZY Announces Full Canadian Tour
SEVENTH WONDER Debut New Song "The Everones"
MADAM X Release ‘Monstrocity’ Music Video
GRETA VAN FLEET Announces Its Debut Full-Length Album, Anthem of The Peaceful Army
YOB Premiere "Original Face" Video
RIVER CITY ROCKFEST Announces Band Performance Times
BEHEMOTH Launches Video For "Wolves Ov Siberia"
RED FANG Announce Late 2018 West Coast Tour Dates
OBSCURA Announce Winter 2019 Headlining Tour Dates
OZZY OSBOURNE Partners With OMAZE To Offer Fans An Epic Concert Experience
HOLTER Set To Release Vlad The Impaler Album
KAMELOT Premiere Video For "MindFall Remedy"
VICIOUS RUMORS Kick Off the "Digital Dictator 30th Anniversary Tour" With SOLD OUT Show In Santa Rosa
SEVEN KINGDOMS Announce North American Headline Tour
ANTHRAX To Celebrate The 30th Anniversary Of State Of Euphoria With Special Edition
STRYPER Guitarist OZ FOX To Resume Touring After Medical Scare
GWAR Takes Over DC's Rick And Morty-Themed Pop-Up Bar
FLOTSAM AND JETSAM Announce New Album, 2019 "Tour Of Chaos"
THE VEER UNION Launch "Living Not Alive" Video
KINGDOM COME Confirms Addditonal Tour Dates For Band's 30-Year Anniversary Tour
SUNFLOWER DEAD Release "Victim" Video
SOULFLY Stream Title Track To New Album Ritual
OPETH Start Pre-Order For "Ghost Of Perdition (Live)" On 10" Vinyl
Inaugural SURF CITY BLITZ Comes To SoCal This October
CONAN Release Video For New Single "Volt Thrower"
SATAN Release New Single, "Death Knell For A King"
WITHERFALL Set To Release New Studio Album A Prelude To Sorrow
DIAMOND HEAD Announce 2018 EU Tour
SKULL FIST Reveal Way Of The Road Album Details


©2018 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News