RAVAGE Announce Return Of The Spectral Rider Album

By Larry Petro, News Monkey
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 @ 1:06 PM

Independently Released On May 26th

- advertisement -
RAVAGE is back with Return Of The Spectral Rider, an album of uncompromising melodic heavy metal from a band that has never bowed to trends. RAVAGE formed in the Boston area in the mid 90's seeking to produce exciting, kick-ass music and an engaging live performance inspired by heroes like IRON MAIDEN and JUDAS PRIEST.

As many of the genre's legacy acts begin to disappear, RAVAGE continues on as a new voice for traditional metal, ignoring passing trends to instead offer a sound that unquestionably falls within the bounds of heavy metal and thrash, while remaining uniquely distinguishable from any band that has preceded them.

RAVAGE's new release is a complete re-recording of the band's Spectral Rider album, which was given a limited release by Germany's Karthago Records in 2005. Production issues plagued that original recording, and since RAVAGE was never in possession of the original unmixed tracks for the record, a remix was not possible.

Over ten years passed since the original release and since many of the songs remained staples in RAVAGE's live set, the band finally decided to deliverer an ultimate version of them, with a strong new production quality, a dynamic performance, and an all-new, fantastic cover art by Tim Jacobus, who is well-known for his paintings on the R.L. STINE's GOOSEBUMPS and FEAR STREET series of horror novels.

RAVAGE's core line-up from the original recording remains intact with founding vocalist Al Ravage and his brother, guitarist Eli Firicano combining with long-time guitarist Nick Izzo. Al Ravage's unique vocal stylings and the guitarist's dual lead guitar assault are complimented by an all-new rhythm section with drummer Derek Jay from the band SEAX and long-time friend Tommy G holding down bass duties. Since RAVAGE did not have a full-time drummer when recording began, the album features guest appearances on drums by GTB (who played on RAVAGE's last album), Yianni Tranxidis (a drummer who has played in numerous bands in the Boston scene), and Bassil Silver, (who was an engineer on the original Spectral Rider recording).

The band recorded and mixed all the tracks at their own Hellbent For Acoustics Studios in Malden MA and Peter Rutcho (REVOCATION, BURY YOUR DEAD), producer of RAVAGE's previous album The End Of Tomorrow, mastered the tracks.

The End Of Tomorrow was released worldwide by Metal Blade Records in 2009, but with this latest release, RAVAGE sought to go the independent route and self-release on the band's own Society For World Wide Ravage Recordings label.

Return Of The Spectral Rider will be available May 26th in multiple formats including limited edition vinyl, CD and digital download.

Following the album release, RAVAGE will be playing shows and festivals throughout the year while preparing material for the band's next collection of original metal.

The Rider has returned, and all will RAVAGE IN PEACE!!!

RAVAGEReturn Of The Spectral Rider Tracklist:

  • "Dies Irae"
  • "Spectral Rider"
  • "Turn The Screw"
  • "The Wicked Way"
  • "Masque Of Black Death"
  • "Ravage Part 1 - Damage"
  • "Whyvern"
  • "Curse Of Heaven"
  • "Wake The Dead"
  • "Wasteland"
  • "Bring Down The Hellhammer"
  • "The King Forgotten"
  • "Father Of The Atom"

Please log in to view RANTS

If you don't have a username, click here to create an account!




 Recent News
Represent! Get Your KNAC.COM Bumper Sticker
Happenings This Week on KNAC.COM
In Memorium: WARREL DANE Passes Away At 56
ALICE COOPER Premieres "The Sound Of A" Video
THERION Reveal Artwork, Info On Beloved Antichrist
ROCKLAHOMA Reveals 2018 Band Lineup
ALICE IN CHAINS Reveal Initial Headline Tour Dates For 2018
EKTOMORF Unveil New Album Fury
SKINLAB Announce 2018 'Brothers In Blood Tour'
EDEN'S CURSE To Release Persecution 10 CD Box Set
LADY BEAST Unleash "Vicious Breed" Video
POWERWOLF Announce First Dates For "Wolfsnächte Tour" 2018
ANOTHER LOST YEAR Debut "Call It Like It Is" Video
MARK SLAUGHTER Streams Solo Album Title Track
JOE PERRY To Perform Special "JOE PERRY AND FRIENDS" Record Release Show In LA
MONTE PITTMAN Launches "Be Very Afraid" Video
SAVAGE MESSIAH Eat Your Heart Out With New Video
MONSTER MAGNET Unveil New Mindfucker Album
THE CONTORTIONIST Announce The 'Clairvoyant 2018 North American Tour'
OBITUARY Share "Brave" Music Video
Learn Mix Magic With BOB MARLETTE’s Tutorial
SHIRAZ LANE Set To Release Carnival Days Album
MILLENIUM Release New Album Awakening
FATES WARNING Launch Tour Trailer For January Dates
MAGNUM Stream New Single "Without Love"
ANTHRAX Set To Release Kings Among Scotland Live DVD In April
JOE PERRY Streams New "Aye, Aye, Aye" Single
AL JOURGENSEN Announces New MINISTRY Album, AmeriKKKant
NORTHERN INVASION Announces 2018 Band Lineup
SAVAGE MACHINE Reveal Abandon Earth Album Details
MACHINE HEAD Drop "Catharsis" Video
METALSTEEL Go Beyond The Stars On New Album
MYLES KENNEDY Releases New Album Title Track Video
VOODOO CIRCLE Set For New Raised On Rock Album
NAPALM DEATH Announce Coded Smears And More Uncommon Slurs Compilation Release
KOBRA AND THE LOTUS Stream New Track "Hell On Earth"
RANDOM EYES Reveal Grieve No More Album Details
SPIDER ROCKETS Return To Make You "Sick"
SMALL TOWN TITANS Give "You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch" A Dark, Blues-Soaked Update
PRIMITIVE RACE Share Track "Dancing On The Sun" In Honor Of Late Front Man, CHUCK MOSLEY
SoCal's NOVAREIGN To Release New Album, Legends
A KILLER'S CONFESSION Set To Embark On "A Very Killer Christmas Tour"
TETRARCH Unleashes Energetic New Video For "Freak"
DRIVE To Release IDEFI Album, A Tribute To Founder/Guitarist RICK CHAVEZ And Singer DAVID EARL TAYLOR
STARSET Announces North American Headline Tour
TOOTHGRINDER Premiere "The Shadow" Video
LORD To Release Live At ProgPower USA Album
UNLOCKING THE TRUTH Release "My Chains" Video
CANE HILL Are Too Far Gone With New Album Release
ICED EARTH Debut Video For Single, "Black Flag"
FOZZY Continue 'Judas Rising Tour' Into 2018
MARTY FRIEDMAN Reveals Personal Video For "Miracle"
ANGRA Set To Release New Album Ømni
THE ATOMIC BITCHWAX Debuts New Song "Hippie Speedball"
JOHN 5 AND THE CREATURES To Release It's Alive! Live Album In January
CAROLINA REBELLION Reveals 2018 Band Lineup
IRON REAGAN Announce 2018 East Coast Headline Tour Dates
GWAR Comic Orgasmageddon Gets Collected Edition
MESHUGGAH Announce 2018 North American Tour Dates
CHASTAIN Reissue Classic The 7th of Never Album As The 7th Of Never 30 Years Heavy
FU MANCHU To Release New Album, Clone Of The Universe
FORT ROCK Announces 2018 Band Lineup
MIKE LEPOND'S SILENT ASSASSINS Set For New Album, Pawn And Prophecy
LAS RAGEOUS Music Festival Announces 2018 Lineup
VISIONS OF ATLANTIS Reveal New Album Details


©2017 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News