New Anthrax Album Being Mixed by Dave Fortman

By Newsferatu, Writer
Thursday, May 21, 2009 @ 9:05 AM

- advertisement -

- advertisement -
Dave Fortman, a member of Ugly Kid Joe, who has also worked with artists such as Mudvayne, Evanescence and Slipknot, began mixing the new Anthrax album, Worship Music, late last week in a New Orleans studio. The album, now set for a fall release, is the band's first studio effort in six years and marks the recording debut of new lead vocalist Dan Nelson.

Commented Fortman, "In 1986, I saw two shows at Jed's in New Orleans that changed my life, one of those was Anthrax. Not long after, I packed up and headed out to make a career in music. Twenty-three years later, it's an absolute pleasure and an honor to work with these guys. They are and always have been one of the great forces in metal."

According to Anthrax - longtime members Scott Ian (rhythm guitar), Frank Bello (bass), Charlie Benante (drums), and Rob Caggiano (lead guitar). and Nelson - confirmed tracks include 'Vampires', 'Crawl', 'The Devil You Know', 'The Giant', 'Fight 'em 'Til You Can't' and 'Earth On Hell'. The album was produced by Caggiano and Anthrax.

"I've always looked at the songs we write like our kids," admitted Scott Ian. "And you wouldn't want to let just anyone take care of your kids, right? Dave is helping us raise really fucking heavy kids."

From the band's point of view, having a true and personal understanding of the music you're mixing is the most important thing, and even more important with Worship Music as none of the Anthrax members would be present during the mixing process.

"Dave Fortman not only understands the music, he lives it," added Benante. "I was so happy when he sent over the first mix, it was all there, it was as if he put himself behind the kit, the mic, the bass. He listens to the song and sees what the song needs, and then he starts building it. We're all confident that Dave will dial it all in and make a monster for us. Like us, Dave worships music, and we like that."

Anthrax heads to Europe in June to play a series of major summer rock festivals, then returns to the US to headline the first night of the third-annual, four-day Rocklahoma festival on July 9th in Prior, OK.

2009 marks the 25th anniversary of Anthrax's debut release, Fistful of Metal. To celebrate, Megaforce Records released a limited edition (only 2,000 copies were made) vinyl release of the album last week, on May 12th, 2009. The package is spread over three 10-inch records in a tri-fold die cut jacket, and includes the group's 1985 EP, Armed and Dangerous. The Fistful of Metal vinyl limited edition reissue retails for $39.98 and is available at Anthrax's official website - www.anthrax.com - amazon.com and record stores across the U.S.

Please log in to view RANTS

If you don't have a username, click here to create an account!




 Recent News
Represent! Get Your KNAC.COM Bumper Sticker
Happenings This Week on KNAC.COM
MADBALL Release Music Video For "Freight Train"
ICARUS WITCH Return With Goodbye Cruel World Album
TRIBULATION Release "Nightbound" Video
VIRGIN STEELE Will Release With Seven Devils Moonshine Special 5 CD Boxset For Their 35th Anniversary
KNAC-FM DJ THRASHPIE Release Head Bangin' Radio Book
DREAM CHILD Drop "Midnight Song" Video
WITHIN TEMPTATION Announce New Album Resist
BMG To Reissue DIO's Classic 1996 - 2004 Studio Albums
DEE SNIDER Is "American Made" With New Video
IMPELLITTERI Unleash "Run For Your Life" Video
THE POWER OF THE RIFF Makes Its Return To Los Angeles In November
GRAVE DIGGER Stream New Track "The Power Of Metal"
VOIVOD Release "Inconspiracy" Video, 7 Inch EP
CASTLE Unveils New Song "Can't Escape The Evil"
MEGADETH Bassist DAVID ELLEFSON Announces East Coast "BASSTORY" Dates
FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH Premiere "When The Seasons Change" Video
UNLEASH THE ARCHERS Stream Track "Ten Thousand Against One"
LACUNA COIL Release "Blood, Tears, Dust" Clip From The 119 Show - Live In London
ARCHITECTS Return With Holy Hell Album
STEELHEART Set To Release Rock'n Milan Live Album, DVD
'A BOWIE CELEBRATION' Announces 32-Date North American Winter Tour
BLACKTOP MOJO Reveal PledgeMusic Campaign To Fund Upcoming Album
POP EVIL Announces 2018 Canadian Headline Tour Dates
SODOM To Release New EP Partisan In November
CIRITH UNGOL Releases First New Track Since 1991 With "Witch's Game"
STRATOVARIUS To Release Enigma: Intermission 2
ENUFF Z'NUFF Release Video For Title Track of New Album Diamond Boy
ALCATRAZZ Reveal Parole Denied-Tokyo 2017 Live LP
SEPTICFLESH Announce Show With Live Orchestra
HELIX To Release A Helix Christmas Album
SUPERSUCKERS Debut "History Of Rock N' Roll" Video
LOUDER THAN LIFE Daily Music Schedule Announced
STEVE VAI Reveals First Round Of Guests Performing At “The Big Mama-Jama Jamathon”
FIFTH ANGEL Unleash 'Can You Hear Me' Lyric Video
GHOST Announces 2019 European Headline Dates
WITHERFALL Release "Ode to Despair" Single/Video
AUDIOTOPSY Reveal Grooving New Track "What Am I?"
KROKUS To Call It A Day With "Adios Amigos Tour"
Former MUSHROOMHEAD Frontman, Co-Founder JEFFREY NOTHING Returns With New Single
METAL ALLEGIANCE Unleash New Beer Visualizer Video For "The Accuser"
FOZZY Announces Full Canadian Tour
SEVENTH WONDER Debut New Song "The Everones"
MADAM X Release ‘Monstrocity’ Music Video
GRETA VAN FLEET Announces Its Debut Full-Length Album, Anthem of The Peaceful Army
YOB Premiere "Original Face" Video
RIVER CITY ROCKFEST Announces Band Performance Times
BEHEMOTH Launches Video For "Wolves Ov Siberia"
RED FANG Announce Late 2018 West Coast Tour Dates
OBSCURA Announce Winter 2019 Headlining Tour Dates
OZZY OSBOURNE Partners With OMAZE To Offer Fans An Epic Concert Experience
HOLTER Set To Release Vlad The Impaler Album
KAMELOT Premiere Video For "MindFall Remedy"
VICIOUS RUMORS Kick Off the "Digital Dictator 30th Anniversary Tour" With SOLD OUT Show In Santa Rosa
SEVEN KINGDOMS Announce North American Headline Tour
ANTHRAX To Celebrate The 30th Anniversary Of State Of Euphoria With Special Edition
STRYPER Guitarist OZ FOX To Resume Touring After Medical Scare
GWAR Takes Over DC's Rick And Morty-Themed Pop-Up Bar
FLOTSAM AND JETSAM Announce New Album, 2019 "Tour Of Chaos"
THE VEER UNION Launch "Living Not Alive" Video
KINGDOM COME Confirms Addditonal Tour Dates For Band's 30-Year Anniversary Tour
SUNFLOWER DEAD Release "Victim" Video
SOULFLY Stream Title Track To New Album Ritual
OPETH Start Pre-Order For "Ghost Of Perdition (Live)" On 10" Vinyl
Inaugural SURF CITY BLITZ Comes To SoCal This October
CONAN Release Video For New Single "Volt Thrower"
SATAN Release New Single, "Death Knell For A King"
WITHERFALL Set To Release New Studio Album A Prelude To Sorrow
DIAMOND HEAD Announce 2018 EU Tour
SKULL FIST Reveal Way Of The Road Album Details


©2018 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News