KNAC.COM News Reviews and More Watch The Latest Videos Buy KNAC T-shirts and More

The Dream Calls for Blood: An Exclusive Interview With Ted Aguilar Of DEATH ANGEL

By Wendy Jasper, Black Metal Aficionado
Friday, November 15, 2013 @ 3:06 PM

"We wanted to put out the best songs that we could and then bring it out to the fans who have always been there for us."

- advertisement -

- advertisement -
The name DEATH ANGEL instantly takes me back to the days of my youth and makes me long for the heavy anthems that got me through my teen years. The release of The Ultra-Violence in 1987 was a defining moment for thrash fans as it brought something new to the table, and many of us could identify with the band because they were our age! One of the youngest bands on the scene at the time, they soon became one of the most influential bands of the genre.

The band went on to release the critically acclaimed Frolic Through the Park in 1988, and the top selling Act III in 1990.

The bandís swift rise to the top of the thrash genre was cut tragically short following a bus accident in Arizona in 1990. Drummer Andy Galeon was severely injured and the band ended up parting ways following the event. However, fan demand remained so strong for so many years, that the band would eventually come back together in the early 2000ís. In 2004, the band released a fourth full-length studio album, The Art of Dying, and their path was set for a spectacular return to the thrash scene.

Now, in 2013, the band has released The Dream Calls for Blood and they have embarked on a touring schedule that will allow fans worldwide to see them again in top form. The current line-up includes vocalist Mark Osegueda, guitarist Rob Cavestany, guitarist Ted Aguilar, bassist Damien Sisson and drummer Will Carroll.

"Right now we have a schedule that will keep us out on the road until the end of summer 2014," Aguilar said during the bandís stop in Dallas, Texas for the acclaimed South by So What Festival.

"We have several weeks on a domestic run, then we head to Europe. We will get to come home for the holidays, but then we head back out," he said. "We will also be featured on the 70,000 Tons Of Metal Cruise, and then even more dates after that."

Aguilar is optimistic about the bandís touring plans and exposure for the new record. It has been recently announced that the band will join CHILDREN OF BODOM during their North American dates in early 2014 before heading to Europe for the summer festival circuit.

"We always head to Europe for the festivals. That is essential for us. We canít skip those," he said. "We have had such a long career. I donít think the band originally thought that we would be doing this for so long, but when Thrash of the Titans was put together as a benefit for Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT), it was apparent that there was demand. Thrash of the Titans was supposed to be a one-off, but we didnít realize how much of an impact there would be on the band and from that moment, we were constantly getting calls to come do specialized shows and by that time, there was no going back."

The band has been proud of how the new CD has been received by the fans and Aguilar maintains that so much thought was put into the process for the release.

"This was an opportunity for the band to come together and release great music," he said. "The songs on this album are heavy, brutal and driven. We wanted to put out the best songs that we could and then bring it out to the fans who have always been there for us. It is a great feeling that so many people still want to see us so we are looking forward to seeing as many people and getting to as many places as we can on this tour. We are reaching a wider audience and it is just amazing."

Songs like the title track, "Left for Dead", "Detonate", and "Fallen" will resonate with old and new fans and are the epitome of what a good thrash record should sound like.

Be sure to check the band out when they come through your area over the next year. The below dates have been recently released for the CHILDREN OF BODOM, DEATH ANGEL and TYR touring package starting in February 2014.

  • 02/14 Quebec City, QC - Imperial
  • 02/15 Montreal, QC - Metropolis
  • 02/16 Toronto, ON - Sound Academy
  • 02/18 Thunder Bay, ON - Crocks
  • 02/20 Winnipeg, MB - Garrick Centre
  • 02/21 Saskatoon, SK - Louis Pub
  • 02/22 Edmonton, AB - Union Hall
  • 02/23 Calgary, AB - MacEwan Ballroom
  • 02/25 Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom
  • 02/26 Seattle, WA - El Corazon
  • 02/28 San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore
  • 03/01 Hollywood, CA - House of Blues
  • 03/02 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory
  • 03/03 Tempe, AZ - Club Red
  • 03/05 Murray, UT - Murray Theater
  • 03/06 Denver, CO - Summit Music Hall
  • 03/07 Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theater
  • 03/08 El Paso, TX - Tricky Falls
  • 03/10 San Antonio, TX - Backstage Live
  • 03/11 Dallas, TX - House Of Blues
  • 03/12 Houston, TX - House Of Blues
  • 03/14 Atlanta, GA - Masquerade
  • 03/15 Ft. Lauderdale, FL - Revolution Live
  • 03/16 Tampa, FL - The Ritz Ybor
  • 03/18 Asheville, FL - Orange Peel
  • 03/19 Charlotte, NC - The Fillmore
  • 03/21 Silver Spring, MD - The Fillmore
  • 03/22 Philadelphia, PA - TLA
  • 03/23 Cleveland, OH - House Of Blues
  • 03/24 Detroit, MI - St. Andrews Hall
  • 03/25 Chicago, IL - House Of Blues
  • 03/27 Boston, MA - Paradise
  • 03/28 New York, NY - Irving Plaza
  • 03/29 New York, NY - Irving Plaza
Photos By Jenssen Rivera And Wendy Jasper-Martinez

Back to Top



 Recent Features
Wheel Of Illusion: An Interview With ROGER NILSSON Of THE QUILL
Guitar Drama: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist MARTY FRIEDMAN
Always Believe: An Exclusive Interview With GIANCARLO FLORIDIA
From Hell I Rise: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist KERRY KING
Light 'Em Up!: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist DOUG ALDRICH Of THE DEAD DAISIES
JUNKMAN Recaps The 2024 'ROCK FOR RONNIE - Year Of The Dragon' Benefit Concert
Tattoo Me On You: An Interview With LEE AARON
A Symptom Of Being Human: An Exclusive Interview With BARRY KERCH Of SHINEDOWN
Beyond Shadowland: An Exclusive Interview With ROBERT BERRY Of SIX BY SIX
Fear No Evil: An Interview With REX CARROLL Of WHITECROSS
Cold Sweat: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist MARC FERRARI
Atomic Klok: An Exclusive Interview With Drummer GENE HOGLAN
No Crown In This Dead Town: An Exclusive Interview With HANNAH CUTT
Rome Wasn't Built In A Day: An Exclusive Interview With DEREK DAVIS Of BABYLON A.D.
Humanoid: An Exclusive Interview With WOLF HOFFMANN Of ACCEPT
Banished By Sin: An Exclusive Interview With GLEN BENTON Of DEICIDE
KEELWORLD: An Exclusive Interview With RON KEEL
Pollen Meets The Blacktop: An Exclusive Interview With MATT JAMES Of BLACKTOP MOJO
Reunited: An Exclusive Interview With RENA PETRUCCI, YAEL RALLIS Of MEANSTREAK
40 Years of Rage: An Exclusive Interview With PETER "PEAVY" WAGNER Of RAGE
The Storm Cometh: An Exclusive Interview With MATT PIKE And JEFF MATZ Of HIGH ON FIRE
From The Archives: JUNKMAN's 2011 Interview With DAVID COVERDALE
DJ WILL Recaps The 2024 HELL'S HEROES VI Festival
From Houston To Vegas: An Exclusive Interview With MARK KENDALL Of GREAT WHITE
Free Spirit Soar: An Exclusive Interview With MARK ZONDER Of WARLORD
Living Like A Sunburn: An Exclusive Interview With DANNY DOLL And CHAD MICHAEL Of WICKED
Roots & Shoots: An Interview With JIM PETERIK Of WORLD STAGE
Let There Be Anarchy: An Interview With JEFF SCOTT SOTO Of ART OF ANARCHY


©2024 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News