KNAC.COM News Reviews and More Watch The Latest Videos Buy KNAC T-shirts and More

Frankly Speaking: JUNKMAN's Exclusive Audio Interview With DAVE ELLEFSON Of MEGADETH

By Larry Petro, News Monkey
Monday, July 29, 2019 @ 11:03 AM

Talking About His New Memoir And Companion LP

- advertisement -
Grammy-winning MEGADETH bassist David Ellefson has announced more details for SLEEPING GIANTS, a companion LP to his upcoming memoir MORE LIFE WITH DETH (out July 16th via Jawbone Press). In stores July 19th on COMBAT RECORDS, SLEEPING GIANTS will be a retrospective featuring several new tracks, plus a collection of demos and unreleased material from F5 and David’s other projects, remastered by Richard Easterling. Featuring artwork and photos by Melody Myers (ALTITUDES AND ATTITUDE, MARC RIZZO, ESCAPE THE FATE), Sleeping Giants will also include a second bonus disc, featuring a compilation of EMP and COMBAT RECORDS Artists including Last Crack, Dead By Wednesday, Doyle, Mark Slaughter, Ron Keel Band, Hatchet, Wrath, Marc Rizzo, and more.

Produced by Ellefson and his partner and MLWD co-author Thom Hazaert, (who also provides vocals for the new tracks), with additional production from ICON guitarist John Aquilino at the Platinum Underground in Phoenix, Sleeping Giants is set to include a multitude of guests including legendary MC Darryl “DMC” McDaniels, who shares vocals with Hazaert on the title track, Mark Tremonti, Eric AK (FLOTSAM AND JETSAM), Ken Mary (ALICE COOPER, FLOTSAM AND JETSAM), Steve Conley (FLOTSAM AND JETSAM, F5), Ethan Brosh, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Dave Sharpe and Opus Lawrence of DEAD BY WEDNESDAY, Illias Papadakis (MEMORIAN), Dave McClain (MACHINE HEAD, SACRED REICH), Andy Martongelli (ALTITUDES AND ATTITUDE) and more, plus a remix by Game Of Thones star Kristian Nairn (Hodor), and unreleased songwriting demos featuring vocals by John Bush (ARMORED SAINT/ex-ANTHRAX), and David Glen Eisley (HOUSE OF LORDS, GIUFFRIA).

“Hammer (Comes Down)” also features a long-awaited fan reunion, as in addition to a laundry list of Metal luminaries including Mark Tremonti, Eric AK (FLOTSAM AND JETSAM), and Dave McClain and Joey Radziwill (SACRED REICH), the track features former MEGADETH guitarist Chris Poland, which will mark Ellefson and Poland’s first commercially released collaboration since MEGADETH’s iconic Peace Sells.. But Who’s Buying?

Says Ellefson, “It was great to reconnect with Chris, musically and personally, who is still, and always has been, one of the most innovative players in Metal. When we were working on putting together the record, Thom had brought up the idea to Chris of him playing on a track, and somehow it all worked out. Add some killer solos from Chris Poland, onto a song that already features Mark Tremonti, Dave McClain, and Eric AK from FLOTSAM, and you can only imagine how incredible it came out. It’s truly an epic collaboration, and we couldn’t be more excited about it.”

Recently, he spoke with KNAC.COM’s Junkman on his “Junkman Radio” show about details. Chekc it out below!

There is also a brief West Coast book tour happening this week. Come out and pick up the book, and get it signed!


  • 8.1 Changing Hands – Phoenix, AZ
  • 8.3 Book Soup - West Hollywood (3 PM)
  • 8.4 - Grill 'Em All - Alhambra, CA (12-2 PM)
  • 8.4 Warwick's San Diego (5 PM)
Sleeping Giants is available for pre-order HERE




  • "Vultures
  • "Sleeping Giants (ft. DMC)
  • "Hammer (Comes Down) (ft. Mark Tremonti, Chris Poland, and Eric AK)
  • "Vultures (Kristian Nairn Remix)
  • "If You Were God” (ft. John Bush) *
  • "Deadman Rise
  • "I Fall
  • "Bleeding
  • "Why Can’t We Die
  • "Dying on The Vine
  • "Faded
  • "Undeniable
  • "Feel Your Pain
  • "Out In The Rain (ft. David Glen Eisley) *
  • "Voices (ft. David Glen Eisley) *
*Unreleased Demo

Disc 2: EMP/COMBAT Artist Sampler

  • Last Crack – “Golden Age”
  • CO-OP (ft. Joe Perry) – “Howl”
  • Green Death (ft. David Ellefson) – “Pure Torture”
  • Semblant – “Scarlet Heritage - Legacy of Blood Pt. III”
  • Hatchet – “Back Into Dust”
  • Marc Rizzo – “Downside Up”
  • Mark Slaughter – “Conspiracy”
  • Doyle (ft. Alissa White-Gluz) – “Kiss Me As We Die”
  • Dead By Wednesday – “You & Die”
  • Evil United (ft. Jason McMaster) – “Operation Overlord”
  • Sunflower Dead – “Turn Away” (Radio Edit)
  • Arise in Chaos – “The Divine”
  • Doll Skin – “Daughter”
  • Psykotribe (ft. David Ellefson) – “End It”
  • Archer Nation – “Severed”
  • Ron Keel Band – “Fight Like A Band”
  • Wrath – “Draw Blood”



 Recent Features
Rise: An Exclusive Interview With HOLY MOTHER
Defiance: An Exclusive Interview With TINO TROY Of PRYAING MANTIS
Wheel Of Illusion: An Interview With ROGER NILSSON Of THE QUILL
Guitar Drama: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist MARTY FRIEDMAN
Always Believe: An Exclusive Interview With GIANCARLO FLORIDIA
From Hell I Rise: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist KERRY KING
Light 'Em Up!: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist DOUG ALDRICH Of THE DEAD DAISIES
JUNKMAN Recaps The 2024 'ROCK FOR RONNIE - Year Of The Dragon' Benefit Concert
Tattoo Me On You: An Interview With LEE AARON
A Symptom Of Being Human: An Exclusive Interview With BARRY KERCH Of SHINEDOWN
Beyond Shadowland: An Exclusive Interview With ROBERT BERRY Of SIX BY SIX
Fear No Evil: An Interview With REX CARROLL Of WHITECROSS
Cold Sweat: An Exclusive Interview With Guitarist MARC FERRARI
Atomic Klok: An Exclusive Interview With Drummer GENE HOGLAN
No Crown In This Dead Town: An Exclusive Interview With HANNAH CUTT
Rome Wasn't Built In A Day: An Exclusive Interview With DEREK DAVIS Of BABYLON A.D.
Humanoid: An Exclusive Interview With WOLF HOFFMANN Of ACCEPT
Banished By Sin: An Exclusive Interview With GLEN BENTON Of DEICIDE
KEELWORLD: An Exclusive Interview With RON KEEL
Pollen Meets The Blacktop: An Exclusive Interview With MATT JAMES Of BLACKTOP MOJO
Reunited: An Exclusive Interview With RENA PETRUCCI, YAEL RALLIS Of MEANSTREAK
40 Years of Rage: An Exclusive Interview With PETER "PEAVY" WAGNER Of RAGE
The Storm Cometh: An Exclusive Interview With MATT PIKE And JEFF MATZ Of HIGH ON FIRE
From The Archives: JUNKMAN's 2011 Interview With DAVID COVERDALE
DJ WILL Recaps The 2024 HELL'S HEROES VI Festival
From Houston To Vegas: An Exclusive Interview With MARK KENDALL Of GREAT WHITE
Free Spirit Soar: An Exclusive Interview With MARK ZONDER Of WARLORD
Living Like A Sunburn: An Exclusive Interview With DANNY DOLL And CHAD MICHAEL Of WICKED
Let There Be Anarchy: An Interview With JEFF SCOTT SOTO Of ART OF ANARCHY


©2024 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News